Experimentation

I took a look at Marla Frazee and Helen Oxenbury’s books yesterday after some of the comments on my colored pencil work. I think part of my problem is the scanning (because the colors do look better in the original, even after trying to adjust in Photoshop). It’s kind of an oldish scanner. But I think part of the problem is the paper, too. I’ll have to do some research on that. The pencils are Faber-Castell, which are regular school pencils in Germany, and considerably better than the regular-grade colored pencils you get in the US. But I don’t know how they compare to professional-grade anything.

Anyway. MF uses black colored pencil to outline, and then does the colors with watercolor. So I thought I’d try it. The pencil repels the watercolor, so it doesn’t get covered up and doesn’t run. I kind of like the effect. (And this was just on the same paper I’ve been using, like printer paper but slightly glossier.)

dancing

2 Responses to “Experimentation”

  1. So that’s how they get that nice soft black line. I’ve wondered. Lovely effect on your illustration.

  2. Rose Green Says:

    It’s like night and day with the coloring on the colored pencil sketch I did for IF this week, isn’t it? And all this time I figured it was ink outlines… I’m going to start reading the fine print on all the picture books I read now!

Leave a Reply

